Roman Catholic 
Diocese of Ogdensburg

Formation for ministry

The newly commissioned lay ministers 2023 pose after their commissioning with Bishop LaValley. They are from parishes in West Chazy, Plattsburgh, Clayton, Watertown, Canton, Heuvelton and Massena.

Kathleen “Kitty” Samuel from St. Peter’s Parish, Massena, proclaims the reading during the Solemn Vespers Commissioning service

Bishop LaValley presents a certificate and congratulations to Daniel and Alynda Haycock of St. Mary’s Church, Clayton.

Father Kevin McEwan and Jeremy Eppler from Holy Cross Parish in Plattsburgh pray together during the service. Pastors work closely with their candidates throughout the two year program.

Father Mark Reilly, pastor at St. Peter’s Parish in Massena, award Lay Minister pins to John Schneider and James and Kitty Samuel

Program Director, Cathy Russell, presenting the soon to be commissioned lay ministers to Bishop LaValley

Andrew Willis is shown with his family and some of his Formation For Ministry classmates as he celebrates his commissioning as a lay minister in his parish. The photographer, Jayme St. Croix, was also present and is a classmate.

Andrew Willis is commissioned by Deacon Neil Fuller at a parish mass. Andrew was unable to attend the group commissioning with Bishop LaValley.

Contact Us

Catherine Russell, Program Coordinator