Diocese of Ogdensburg

The Roman Catholic Church in Northern New York

The Religion curriculum of the diocese of Ogdensburg is built upon the  Four Pillars of the Catechism of the Catholic Church – Creed, Sacraments,  Christian Life in Christ, and Prayer.  It  is the expectation that the diocesan Religion curriculum, approved by Bishop  LaValley, will be followed in all schools of the Diocese of Ogdensburg.  It is further expected that our faith and  teachings will be integrated throughout our academic curriculum as appropriate.

Grade Two Focus – First Reconciliation and First Communion Areas of the Four Pillars included in the Second Grade Religion  curriculum include:


  • Persons of the Trinity
  • Bible is God’s Word to us
  • Catholic Church is a family of Jesus’  followers
  • Creation is a gift from God


  • We belong to the Church, the people  of God
  • Sacraments are celebrations of God’s  love
  • Sacrament of Baptism
  • Sacrament of Reconciliation
  • Sacrament of Eucharist
  • Sacramentals of symbols (holy water,  medals, statues) and actions (genuflecting, bowing)
  • Liturgical year – Advent, Christmas,  Lent, Easter, Ordinary Time
  • The saints’ feasts – Mary, Joseph.  All Saints, and patron saints

Christian Life in Christ

  • Jesus calls us to be his disciples  through Baptism
  • Life is enriched through individual  and cultural differences
  • Gospel calls us to the Great Law of  Love


  • Four purposes of prayer – praise,  petition, thanksgiving and sorrow
  • Mass is the perfect prayer
  • Memorized prayer – Our Father, Hail  Mary, Act of Contrition, Morning Offering, Rosary
  • Spontaneous prayer
  • Liturgical prayers of the Mass and  Sacraments