Diocese of Ogdensburg

The Roman Catholic Church in Northern New York

The Religion curriculum of the diocese of Ogdensburg is built upon the  Four Pillars of the Catechism of the Catholic Church – Creed, Sacraments,  Christian Life in Christ, and Prayer.  It  is the expectation that the diocesan Religion curriculum, approved by Bishop  LaValley, will be followed in all schools of the Diocese of Ogdensburg.  It is further expected that our faith and  teachings will be integrated throughout our academic curriculum as appropriate.

Grade Three Focus – The Creed

Areas of the Four Pillars included in the Third Grade Religion curriculum  include:


  • Created in God’s likeness and  sustained by God’s love
  • Nicene Creed – beliefs of our Church
  • Our early Church and our Church today


  • Sacraments of Initiation – Baptism,  Eucharist, Confirmation
  • Sacraments of Service – Matrimony,  Holy Orders
  • Sacrament of Healing –  Reconciliation, Anointing of the Sick
  • Signs and symbols of the sacraments
  • Sacramentals and Rituals in our faith
  • Liturgical Year – celebrating the  life of Christ and His saints

Christian Life in Christ

  • Human dignity – acceptance of all of  God’s creation
  • Human interactions based on Great  Commandment
  • Social justice – protecting the  rights of all people
  • Responsibility to service of the  neighbor
  • Development of conscience guided by  our church’s teachings


  • Kinds of prayer – Adoration and  praise, Thanksgiving, Petition and Contrition
  • Ways to pray – memorized,  spontaneous, meditation, group and liturgical
  • Memorized prayer – Basic prayers,  Morning Offering, Rosary, Apostle’s Creed
  • Mass as the perfect prayer