Diocese of Ogdensburg

The Roman Catholic Church in Northern New York

The Religion curriculum of the Diocese of Ogdensburg is built upon the  Four Pillars of the Catechism of the Catholic Church – Creed, Sacraments,  Christian Life in Christ, and Prayer.  It  is the expectation that the diocesan Religion curriculum, approved by Bishop  LaValley, will be followed in all schools of the Diocese of Ogdensburg.  It is further expected that our faith and  teachings will be integrated throughout our academic curriculum as appropriate.

Grade Seven Focus – New Testament

Areas of the Four Pillars included in the Seventh Grade Religion  curriculum include:


  • Structure of the New Testament
  • The Trinity – Father, Son, and Holy  Spirit
  • Jesus of Nazareth
  • Jesus the Messiah
  • Jesus the Lord
  • The Church – continuing the mission  of Jesus


  • Jesus the Savior – Baptism,  Eucharist, Confirmation
  • Jesus the Healer – Reconciliation. Anointing  of the Sick
  • Jesus the Servant – Holy Orders,  Matrimony
  • Sacramentals and Rituals in our faith
  • Celebrating with the Church – the  Liturgical Year

Christian Life in  Christ

  • Message of Jesus is to choose life
  • Jesus and His Church guide us
  • Jesus challenges us to live just  lives
  • Jesus calls us to live the virtues  and avoid sin
  • Jesus calls us to a particular  vocation
  • Jesus blesses the family as the  domestic church


  • Jesus models how to pray when he was  on earth
  • Jesus teaches us how to pray
  • Jesus hears our prayer
  • Prayer of Mary
  • Prayer  experiences in the tradition of Jesus