Diocese of Ogdensburg

The Roman Catholic Church in Northern New York

The Religion curriculum of the diocese of Ogdensburg is built upon the  Four Pillars of the Catechism of the Catholic Church – Creed, Sacraments, Christian  Life in Christ, and Prayer.  It is the  expectation that the diocesan Religion curriculum, approved by Bishop LaValley,  will be followed in all schools of the Diocese of Ogdensburg.  It is further expected that our faith and  teachings will be integrated throughout our academic curriculum as appropriate.

Kindergarten  Focus – Creation and Prayer

Areas  of the Four Pillars included in the Kindergarten Religion curriculum include:


  • Creation is a gift from God
  • Bible is a special book about God
  • Trinity is 3 Persons in One God
  • Members of a parish community
  • Respect for all of creation


  • Sacraments are special signs of God’s life
  • Reverence and prayer at Mass
  • Sacramentals of   holy water, rosary, statues
  • Liturgical seasons of Advent, Christmas, Lent and  Easter
  • Saints for holy days and seasons

Christian Life in Christ

  • All life and people are holy
  • Love Jesus by loving others
  • Vocations are special calls to  service
  • Making good choices


  • Prayer is talking and listening to  God
  • Many ways to pray including the Sign  of the Cross and the Our Father
  • Family is the primary setting for  learning to pray
  • God  shows us how to pray for others especially in the Bible