Diocese of Ogdensburg

The Roman Catholic Church in Northern New York

The Religion curriculum of the diocese of Ogdensburg is built upon the  Four Pillars of the Catechism of the Catholic Church – Creed, Sacraments,  Christian Life in Christ, and Prayer.  It  is the expectation that the diocesan Religion curriculum, approved by Bishop  LaValley, will be followed in all schools of the Diocese of Ogdensburg.  It is further expected that our faith and  teachings will be integrated throughout our academic curriculum as appropriate.

Grade One Focus – Creation and Baptism, our membership into the Church

Areas of the Four Pillars included in the First Grade Religion curriculum  include:


  • God is our loving Father
  • Bible is the word of God
  • God is always with us
  • God is Trinity
  • Catholic Church is our Faith  Community


  • Sacrament of Baptism
  • Sacrament of Eucharist
  • Sacramentals of  holy water, rosary, statues
  • Celebrating the life of Jesus - Advent,  Christmas, Lent and Easter
  • Saints for holy days and seasons

Christian Life in Christ

  • Jesus calls us by name at Baptism
  • Called to be followers of Jesus
  • Humans are created in God’s image and  likeness
  • Gospel calls us to love our neighbor


  • Prayer is talking and listening to  God
  • Memorized prayers – Sign of the  Cross, Our Father, Hail Mary, Glory Be
  • Prayers to bless our day – Morning  Offering, Grace before meals, night prayer.