Diocese of Ogdensburg

The Roman Catholic Church in Northern New York

The Religion curriculum of the Diocese of Ogdensburg is built upon the  Four Pillars of the Catechism of the Catholic Church – Creed, Sacraments,  Christian Life in Christ, and Prayer.  It  is the expectation that the diocesan Religion curriculum, approved by Bishop  LaValley, will be followed in all schools of the Diocese of Ogdensburg.  It is further expected that our faith and  teachings will be integrated throughout our academic curriculum as appropriate.

Grade Four Focus – Ten Commandments and The Beatitudes

Areas of the Four Pillars included in the Fourth Grade Religion  curriculum include: Creed

  • God, our loving Father and Creator
  • Jesus, our Redeemer
  • Holy Spirit, our Guide
  • Church is light to the world
  • Communion of Saints
  • Stewardship of God’s creation


  • Divine Presence of Jesus in the  Eucharist
  • Reconciliation renews relationship  with God
  • Sacramentals and Rituals in our faith
  • Liturgical Year – celebrating the  life of Christ and His saints – Solemnities of the Lord

Christian Life in Christ

  • Call to serve God and one another
  • Human interactions based on Great  Commandment
  • Beatitudes
  • Corporal and Spiritual Works of Mercy
  • Holy Spirit and the Church are our  guides in living
  • Ten Commandments
  • Healthy and respectful choices


  • Prayer as raising our heart and minds  to God using different kinds and ways of prayer
  • Mary our model in living and in  prayer
  • Memorized prayer – Basic prayers,  Rosary, Apostle’s Creed, Acts of Faith, Hope and Love
  • Mass as the perfect prayer