Diocese of Ogdensburg

The Roman Catholic Church in Northern New York

The Religion curriculum of the diocese of Ogdensburg is built upon the  Four Pillars of the Catechism of the Catholic Church – Creed, Sacraments,  Christian Life in Christ, and Prayer.  It  is the expectation that the diocesan Religion curriculum, approved by Bishop  LaValley, will be followed in all schools of the Diocese of Ogdensburg.  It is further expected that our faith and  teachings will be integrated throughout our academic curriculum as appropriate.

Grade Five Focus – The Sacraments

Areas of the Four Pillars included in the Fifth Grade Religion curriculum  include:


  • Purpose of our life is to know, love  and serve God  and enjoy eternal life
  • The mystery of the Trinity is the  Core of our Faith
  • Church is one, holy, catholic and  apostolic
  • Church is sacrament of Christ in the  world
  • Stewardship of God’s creation


  • Seven sacraments and their rituals
  • Jesus is the primal sacrament
  • Church is the Sacrament of Christ in  the world
  • The seven sacraments in detail
  • Sacramentals and Rituals in our faith
  • Celebrating with the Church – the Liturgical  Year

Christian Life in  Christ

  • Called to be faithful followers of  Jesus
  • Called to respect and protect life
  • Called to live in right relationship  with others and the earth
  • Called to work for peace and justice


  • Jesus as our model of prayer
  • Kinds of prayer
  • Memorized prayer – Basic prayers,  Rosary, Angelus, Acts of Faith, Hope and Love
  • Meditation and reflective prayer