Diocese of Ogdensburg

The Roman Catholic Church in Northern New York

The Religion curriculum of the Diocese of Ogdensburg is built upon the  Four Pillars of the Catechism of the Catholic Church – Creed, Sacraments,  Christian Life in Christ, and Prayer.  It  is the expectation that the diocesan Religion curriculum, approved by Bishop  LaValley, will be followed in all schools of the Diocese of Ogdensburg.  It is further expected that our faith and  teachings will be integrated throughout our academic curriculum as appropriate.

Grade Eight Focus – Church History

Areas of the Four Pillars included in the Eighth Grade Religion  curriculum include:


  • The Creed is the summary of our Faith
  • The models of the Church
  • Divine Revelation
  • History of the Church – founding to  present day


  • Sacraments – special signs with life  of the Church of Christ’s grace
  • The Seven Sacraments
  • Sacramentals and their difference  from Sacraments
  • Celebrating with the Church – the Liturgical  Year

Christian Life in Christ

  • Witness to Christian living by the  teachings of Jesus
  • Maturity and discipleship
  • Maturity and respect for life
  • Maturity and morality
  • Maturity and vocation
  • Discipleship today, tomorrow and  always


  • Prayer in the age of the Church
  • Tradition of prayer
  • Ways of prayer
  • Guides of prayer